India is ranked 87th out of 199 passports on the Henley Passport Index, which ranks the strongest and weakest passports based on information provided by the International Air Transport Authority (IATA). 60 nations accept Indian passport holders without requiring a visa.


Bangalore, first published July 21, 2022, 4:42 p.m. IST

Indian passport holders do not need to obtain a visa to enter 60 countries around the world. India enjoys visa-free access to 60 countries, ranking 87th on the 2022 Henley Passport Index. However, the value of an Indian passport has risen from 85th to 87th in the index.

Following the outbreak of the COVID-19 pandemic in March 2020, India halted all outbound travel. After almost two years, the ban was lifted in March this year. Even though India has signed bubble agreements with several countries to facilitate round trips.

Read also: Balanced diet and regular grooming: consult the Monsoon guide for your pets

According to the 2022 Henley Passport Index, Japan’s passport is the most powerful in the world, granting its holder visa-free access to 193 countries. It is followed by the passports of Singapore and South Korea, whose holders will be able to travel to 192 countries without a visa.

Syria has the third weakest passport in the world, Afghanistan is ranked last at number 112 and only has visa-free access to 27 countries. Iraq is ranked second to last at position 111. Pakistan has the fourth weakest passport, allowing visa-free travel to only 32 countries.

Also read: Do you have trust issues in your relationship? Use these 5 tips to overcome it

Without a visa: what does it mean?
Visa-free travel implies that you can enter this country without obtaining a visa in addition to your passport.

What are the advantages of traveling without a visa?
The benefits of traveling without a visa include:

  • Access to a visa-free nation
  • Entry does not involve filling out tedious visa applications
  • No other documents are required

Checklist of 60 Visa Free Countries for Indian Passport
1. Cook Islands
2. Fiji
3. Marshall Islands
4. Micronesia
5. Niue
6. Palau Islands
7. Samoa
11. Jordan
13. Qatar
14. Albania
15. Serbia
16. Barbados
17. British Virgin Islands
18. Dominica
19. Pomegranate
20. Haiti
21. Jamaica
22. Montserrat
23. Saint Kitts and Nevis
24. Saint Lucia
25. Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
26. Trinidad and Tobago
27. Bhutan
28. Cambodia
29. Indonesia
30. Laos
31. Macau (SAR China)
32. Maldives
33. Burma
34. Nepal
35.Sri Lanka
36. Thailand
37. East Timor
38. Bolivia
39. El Salvador
40. Botswana
42. Cape Verde Islands
43. Comoros Islands
44. Ethiopia
45. Gabon
46. ​​Guinea-Bissau
47. Madagascar
48. Mauritania
49. Mauritius
50. Mozambique
51. Rwanda
52. Senegal
53. Seychelles
54. Sierra Leone
55. Somalia
56. Tanzania
58. Tunisia
59. Uganda
60. Zimbabwe

Last updated July 21, 2022 4:44 PM IST

Download the app:

  • android
  • ios