Australia is now the latest country to have an air bubble deal with India. It will allow eligible passengers to travel between the two countries.

According to the official statement, Indian and Australian carriers can carry to India, Indian nationals or nationals of Bhutan or Nepal, Australia and New Zealand as well as all Overseas Indian Citizen card holders ( OCI) and PIO card holders holding passports from any country; and all foreign nationals holding a valid Indian visa.

Likewise, Australian residents or nationals and foreign nationals with a valid visa, who are eligible to enter New Zealand and Australia, could travel on flights from India.

However, airlines would be required to ensure that there are no travel restrictions for Indian, Nepalese and Bhutanese nationals to enter the destination country before issuing the ticket or boarding pass.

As previously reported, international flights will remain suspended until January 31, but passenger flights under bilateral air bubble pacts will continue to operate.

With this, India now has an air bubble deal with 33 countries including Australia, Afghanistan, Bahrain, Bhutan, Bangladesh, Canada, Ethiopia, France, Finland, Germany, Iraq, Japan, Kuwait, Kenya, Mauritius, Maldives, Nigeria, Nepal, Netherlands, Oman, Qatar, Rwanda, Russia, Singapore, Seychelles, Sri Lanka, Switzerland , Tanzania, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United Arab Emirates, United States of America and Uzbekistan.