The Maldives, one of the region’s most favorite tourist destinations, has banned travelers from a number of South Asian countries, including India, following the COVID-19 outbreak. The idyllic beach getaway is currently facing one of the worst COVID-19 outbreaks since the pandemic hit the world and put a number of restrictions in place for travelers to protect its citizens.

With this decision, the Maldives became the latest country to restrict travel from India. No tourist visa will be issued to travelers from India and the countries mentioned above through the Maldives from May 13.

The new restriction will be imposed on May 13, 2021, until further notice. The other countries included in the list, apart from India, are Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, Bhutan, Bangladesh, Nepal and Pakistan. It appears that the Maldives is currently experiencing one of the fastest growing COVID-19 outbreaks in the world. The government has also banned residents of the capital, Malé, from staying indoors from 4 p.m. to 4 a.m. The restriction on its citizens is expected to remain in place for another week. A number of gatherings are also banned at the moment.