The Czech Republic continues to apply the color coding system, categorizing countries according to their epidemiological situation.

Divided into four categories, the green category represents low-risk countries, where no travel restrictions apply; the orange category represents medium risk, and red and dark red include countries with very limited travel comfort.

Travelers from all countries, regardless of their vaccination status, are required to provide the Passenger Locator Form prior to arrival.

Entry requirements for travelers from EU/EEA countries

Based on the color coding system, EU member states are added to the dark red list, representing very high risk countries. However, none of these rules apply to EU citizens and residents.

But as a general rule, only fully vaccinated travelers are allowed to enter Czechia from these countries. Others are only allowed if they have an essential reason to travel.

“If you are traveling by individual transport (such as your own car) and you are at the same time an EU citizen, family member of an EU citizen or resident in the EU, the entry rules above do not apply to you”, reads the press release issued by the Czech Foreign Ministry.

Entry requirements for travelers from third countries

Only arrivals from countries like Colombia, Indonesia, Kuwait, Macao, New Zealand, Peru, Qatar, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, South Korea, Taiwan, United Arab Emirates, Vatican, who represent the green category, are allowed to enter Czechia without any restrictions. .

Others must present one of the following documents to enter the country:

  • Certificate of test carried out no earlier than 72 hours before arrival (PCR tests) or 24 hours before arrival (antigen test)
  • Vaccination certificate, valid for 270 days after primary school or with a reminder
  • Certificate of Recovery, valid for 180 days after testing positive for COVID-19

In addition to these, arrivals from third countries are required to present a PCR test five or seven days after arrival.

In addition, essential travel, which exempts several categories from additional requirements, includes citizens and residents of Czechia, international transport workers, those transiting through Czechia, those with diplomatic missions, minors mentally ill, cross-border workers, parents or guardians traveling to care for loved ones, spouses and partners and children under 12.

Vaccines approved by Czech health authorities include EU approved vaccines (AstraZeneca, Janssen, Moderna, Pfizer BioNTech) or WHO approved vaccines if the Czech Republic has recognized the digital vaccination certificate from the country of origin travellers.

These countries are:

Albania, Andorra, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Bahrain, Benin, Bhutan, Brazil, Brunei, Canada, Cape Verde, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Egypt, Ethiopia, Faroe Islands, Georgia, Greenland, Hong Kong, Iceland, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Kuwait, Lebanon, Liechtenstein, Malaysia, Maldives, Mexico, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Nepal, New Zealand, North Macedonia, Norway, Pakistan, Palestine, Panama, Peru, Philippines, El Salvador, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Singapore, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Switzerland, Syria, Taiwan, Thailand, Togo, Tunisia, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, Ukraine, Uruguay, United States, Uzbekistan and Vatican City.

In addition, due to the war in Ukraine, the Czech authorities have abolished quarantine measures for people fleeing the country.

National restrictions related to COVID-19

The requirement to wear a face mask in all closed environments such as schools, public transport and shopping malls is still in force while it has ceased to apply to outdoor activities.

“Stores and their distribution counters do not have limited opening hours. Shops may also be open on Sundays and public holidays,” reads the official site, also stressing that a mask must be worn and that the social distance of 1.5 meters must be applied.

In addition, the ban on alcohol consumption no longer applies in the Czech Republic.