The South African players gathered at Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium for their optional training session after passing the mandatory RT-PCR tests ahead of the T20I 5-game series against India.

The spin trio of Keshav Maharaj, Tabraiz Shamsi and Aiden Markram spent the most time in net as wicketkeeper striker Quinton de Kock watched from the touchline.

Given the conditions in the subcontinent, spinners are naturally expected to play a huge role in the outcome of the games and the Proteas were keen to hone their skills in the same department.

“All the squad members have tested negative, but for the IPL players who were in action up until last week, they would be entitled to a few days break before the series as part of the load management of work,” a Proteas support staff member told PTI. on the sidelines of the net session.

Meanwhile, the returning Wayne Parnell also hit the straps with the young gun, Marco Jansen, also having an extended session. Most of the team has gathered in Delhi while IPL winning hitter David Miller is currently on vacation in the Maldives and is expected to join the team soon.

David Miller, Kagiso Rabada
David Miller and Kagiso Rabada after winning the game for South Africa. (Picture: Twitter)

Indian team T20I:

KL Rahul (Capt), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan, Deepak Hooda, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (VC) (wk), Dinesh Karthik (wk), Hardik Pandya, Venkatesh Iyer, Y Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, R Bishnoi , Bhuvneshwar, Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik

The South African T20I team:

Temba Bavuma (Capt), Quinton de Kock, Reeza Hendrix, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Wayne Parnell, Dwayne Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabariz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs, Rasi van der Dussen , Marco Jansen.

Also Read – Will meet Avishek Dalmiya in person and finalize formalities – Wriddhiman Saha confirms departure from Bengal squad