Although Russian citizens need a visa to travel to countries in North America and Europe, there are many places a Russian tourist can enter without a visa.

As a rule, there are many visa-free destinations for Russian passport holders. These include exotic places like, for example, the Republic of South Africa or Jamaica; but the least problematic destinations include its neighboring countries.

Where can Russians go without a passport?

Some countries not only admit Russian citizens without a visa, but also do not require Russian visitors to provide an international passport. These are mostly post-Soviet states with close ties to Russia and a level of deep integration with the country. These countries include Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, as well as two limited recognition states, South Ossetia and Abkhazia. [unlike the U.S. and some other countries in Europe and beyond, Russia recognizes them as independent states]. Traveling to any of these destinations is akin to moving within Russia’s borders, as an internal ID [also called passport in Russia] is enough to cross the international border.

Be careful though! Some restrictions may apply due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

Where can Russians go without a visa?

A view of the new Remezov airport in the Tyumen region, Russia.

The list of countries that allow Russian citizens to enter visa-free is long and extensive, covering almost every continent, with North America being the only exception.

In addition to other post-Soviet states like Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Moldova, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan, Mongolia, the list of visa-free countries for Russian citizens includes exotic destinations like the Botswana, Republic of South Africa, Cape Verde, Mauritius, Morocco, Namibia, Eswatini and Tunisia in Africa.

Russians can also visit Bolivia, Brazil, Venezuela, Colombia, Costa Rica, Guyana, Guatemala, Honduras, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Grenada, Cuba, Nicaragua, Panama, Peru , Paraguay, El Salvador, Chile, Ecuador and Jamaica in southern and central America and the Caribbean, as well as some island nations in Oceania without a visa.

In Asia, visa-free destinations include Brunei, Vietnam, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, and the Philippines.

Some other states allowing temporary free entry to Russian citizens include the Bahamas, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Israel, Qatar, Macao, North Macedonia, Maldives, Seychelles, Serbia, Turkey, Ukraine and the Montenegro. The list is non-exhaustive.

Note that all of these countries require Russian citizens to have a visa if they intend to stay for a certain period of time. In some cases, a visa-free period can be up to 90 days, but in others it is only 30, 21 or 14 days.

Which countries issue a visa at the border for Russian citizens?

A group of tourists from Russia.

Some countries require a visa from Russian citizens, but greatly simplify the process of obtaining a visa. A Russian citizen can simply show up at the border, pay a certain fee and receive a visa there.

The list of these countries includes, but is not limited to, Bangladesh, Bahrain, Haiti, Gambia, Egypt, Zimbabwe, Tanzania, Uganda, India, Jordan, Iraq, l Iran, Kenya, United Arab Emirates, Saudi Arabia, Syria, Sri Lanka, Ethiopia and others.

Click here to find out how to obtain Russian citizenship.

If you use all or part of the content from Russia Beyond, always provide an active hyperlink to the original content.